Trustees and Advisory Board members

This page has biographies for each of the Trustees and Advisory Board members of the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust. For more information about the structure and responsibilities of the Trust, you can read more about the Trust here.


The Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust has three trustees. The trustees are responsible for the allocation of Appeal funds to support earthquake recovery initiatives. They are:

The Secretary for Internal Affairs and the Secretary to the Treasury are positions held by the chief executives of those government departments, and are not political appointments.

Dr Rod CarrDr Rod Carr

Dr Rod Carr, retired Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury in 2019. His distinguished career in the banking sector has included holding the position of Acting Governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Senior Executive at the National Australia Bank in Melbourne, Australia. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management, holds directorships of several private and public companies and is a former chair of the Reserve Bank.


Paul James, Secretary for Internal AffairsPaul James

Paul James was appointed a Trustee on 1 October 2018, when he was appointed Chief Executive and Secretary for Internal Affairs. He was previously the Chief Executive for the Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture and Heritage from August 2015.Prior to joining Manatū Tangoa in 2015, Paul was the Deputy Chief Executive, Policy, Regulatory and Ethnic Affairs (now Policy, Regulation and Communities) at Te Tari Taiwhenua Department of Internal Affairs from 2011. He was also responsible for negotiating treaty settlements as the Director of Office of Treaty Settlements at the Ministry of Justice. In this post, Paul oversaw a significant increase in the rate of settlements achieved.Paul’s other senior public sector roles have included Policy Manager Family Law (2002 to 2004) and General Manager Public Law (2004 to 2006) at the Ministry of Justice, along with policy roles in the Treasury, Accident Compensation Corporation, and Te Puni Kōkiri.

Dr Caralee McLiesh, Secretary to the TreasuryDr Caralee McLiesh

Dr Caralee McLiesh joined the Treasury as Chief Executive and Secretary to the Treasury in September 2019.Caralee's previous role was as Managing Director at Technical and Further Education (TAFE) New South Wales (NSW), Australia, where she led the transformation of TAFE NSW to become a more modern, competitive and sustainable organisation.Prior to this, from 2008-2018 Caralee held several Deputy Secretary roles at the NSW Treasury. During her time there, she led the development of State Budgets covering AUS$80 billion operating expenditure and AUS$350 billion in assets. In her most recent role at NSW Treasury (Deputy Secretary for the Fiscal and Economic Group), Caralee advised the Treasurer (NSW's equivalent of the Minister of Finance) and government agencies on fiscal and economic policy, coordination of the Budget and state sector accounts, taxation, intergovernmental relations, and balance sheet management.

Advisory Board

The Trustees appointed an Advisory Board of community representatives to provide the Trustees with additional local perspective and advice on specific proposals. The Advisory Board had its last meeting on the 12th of March 2014.

The Advisory Board members were:

Jane Huria (Advisory Board Chair)Jane Huria

Jane Huria is Ngai Tahu and affiliates to Ngai Tuahuriri. Jane holds directorships in a number of public and private sector organisations, including Board Member, Accident Compensation Corporation; Chair, He Oranga Pounamu; Deputy Electoral Commissioner; Trustee, Winter Games (New Zealand); Trustee, Court Theatre; Lay Member, Health Practitioners’ Disciplinary Tribunal; Director, HSR Governance Limited. Jane is also is a member of the Red Cross 2011 Earthquake Appeal Commission and a patron of the University of Canterbury Foundation.

Ros BurdonRos Burdon

Ros Burdon is a benefactor and patron of the arts and recognised as one of Christchurch’s most influential figures in the arts world. In 2002, Ros was made a Companion to the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to arts and the community.


David CloseDavid Close

David Close, an eastern-suburbs resident, was a member of the Christchurch City Council from 1977 to 2001. He is a former staff member of Christchurch Boys’ High School. He is also a trustee of the Hamlin Trust NZ, which supports an ongoing project to assist women in Ethiopia who suffer from horrific birth injuries.

Justin MurrayJustin Murray

Justin Murray is Managing Director of Murray & Co., an independent investment bank based in Christchurch. Justin is also a Crown-appointed Director of Christchurch International Airport, is a Fellow of the Board of Governors of Christ’s College and is a member of the Institute of Finance Professionals.

Tane NortonTane Norton

Rangitane Will “Tane” Norton was born in Waikari, Canterbury and is a former All Black captain. He is a Board Member of the Charitable Trust for Critical Rugby Injuries. In 2006, Norton was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the annual New Zealand Honours List.

Pamela RichardsonPamela Richardson

Pamela Richardson, of Akaroa, received the Insignia of a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2010 for services to conservation and the community. She was involved with the Canterbury Community Trust for many years, has been a trustee of the North Canterbury Rural Support Trust, and is the chair of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board.

Anthony RimellAnthony Rimell

Anthony Rimell is currently Pastor at Riccarton Baptist Church, in West Christchurch. Prior to this role, Anthony was Pastor of the Breezes Road Baptist Church in East Christchurch and closely involved in earthquake relief and recovery work in Avondale, Wainoni and Aranui.